Yes its that time again.  In December? Yep, in December.  I’d not done Great Gable before but I had heard it was slightly challenging compared to some.  Well, if you are going to push yourself, why not do it with snow in your face?

The walk took us up Green Gable, across Windy Gap (though it was windier on Green Gable than Windy Gap below it) and then up to Great Gable.  I have to say, when you reach Green Gable and stand looking down over Windy Gap and then the formidable sight of Great Gable stands above you, it’s quite humbling.  I’ll not write the exact phrase that went through my head, but it was a more abrupt version of “Oh my that looks an interesting climb”.

As ever, when the rock is 6″ from your face rather than a few hundred feet, it’s not quite as bad.  But the wind, hail and snow did add some extra interest.

If you are thinking of doing this walk, I would certainly recommend it.  It does involve an upward scramble from this direction but it’s not too difficult.  Something akin to climbing up a 30ft pile of oversized lego?

